About the Pistoia Alliance

Lowering Barriers to R&D Innovation

We are a global, not-for-profit alliance of life science companies, vendors, publishers, and academic groups that work together to lower barriers to innovation in R&D.

Our projects transform R&D innovation through pre-competitive collaboration. We bring together the key constituents to identify the root causes that lead to R&D inefficiencies. We develop best practices and technology pilots to overcome common obstacles.

Our members collaborate as equals on open projects that generate significant value for the worldwide life sciences community.

Join the Pistoia Alliance today

The Pistoia Alliance is a group of life sciences industry experts. We use pre-competitive collaboration to address issues around aggregating, accessing, and sharing data that are essential to innovation, but provide little competitive advantage. We have a strong track record in delivering value from our projects, providing our membership with perspective on current problems, and being a source of impartial opinion. We were established in 2009 by representatives of AstraZeneca, GSK, Novartis and Pfizer who met at a conference in Pistoia, Italy.

Innovation in Action

By pooling resources from a number of companies we increase the efficiency of innovation. The projects that we deliver generate significant value and attain global adoption. We ensure our projects are as effective and valuable as possible by developing proven technological solutions that build on our high levels of knowledge and insight, and our ability to access the best researchers and scientists in the life sciences industry. We are a community of experts, and we openly publish our work for the benefit of the worldwide research community. 

Access our published resources

Operations Team

The Officers of the Pistoia Alliance work with volunteers and paid consultants to enact the strategy envisioned by the Pistoia Alliance Board of Directors. Our current Officers are:

Steve Arlington, President

Ashley George, GlaxoSmithKline, Treasurer

Martyn Wilkins, Company Secretary

Advisory Board

The Pistoia Alliance is advised by a panel of independent experts. Our current advisory board members are:

  • Alan Lewis (Board Director at Assembly Biosciences Inc., Board member at BıoMarın, President and CEO at Diavacs, Chairman of the Board at Batu Biologics, La Jolla, USA)
  • Bill Burns (Switzerland; Shire; Mesoblast; Vestergaard; Wellcome Trust; Institute of Cancer Research)
  • Bryn Roberts (Switzerland, Roche)
  • Carl Peck (USA, FDA and now NDAPartners)
  • David Feigel (USA, Amgen, UCSF and now NDA Partners)
  • Kevin Dean (UK, Cisco Europe, now Chair AMRA, Digital Health consultant & Adjunct Professor, Maersk Institute, Denmark)
  • Mike Farrar (UK, Head of NHS Trusts and now independent advisor, HC)
  • Paul Fitzpatrick (UK/USA, HLInc Consultant)
  • Shobie Ramakrishnan (USA, Genentech/AstraZeneca )
  • Tim Irish (UK, NICE, NED)
  • James P Sullivan (USA VP Discovery AbbVie)
  • Steve Wooding (UK/USA, Head Global Commercial and Market Access Strategy, Janssen)


Our current consultants are:

  • Claire Bellamy, Perdiem Ltd.
  • Ian Harrow, Ian Harrow Consulting Ltd.
  • Nick Lynch, Curlew Research Ltd.
  • Carmen Nitsche, CINforma Consulting
  • David Proudlock, Previse Consulting.
  • Gabrielle Whittick, GMW Consulting.
  • John Wise, Pharma Logistics Ltd.
  • Gerhard Noelken, Data4Lab Ltd.
  • Paula de Matos, de Matos UX Consulting Ltd.
  • Richard Norman, Norman Consulting.
  • Beeta Balali-Mood, Forvard, Ltd
  • Richard Shute, Curlew Research Ltd.
  • Jarek Tomczak, Informatics Unlimited
  • Roger Frechette, New England PharmAssociates
  • Zahid Tharia, Open Pharma Ltd
  • Vladimir Makarov, Vladimir A. Makarov Consulting

Board of Directors

The Pistoia Board of Directors sets the overall strategic aims for the Alliance and includes representatives from Alliance member organizations. Current board members include:

Fiona Ford, DNAnexus

Paul Denny-Gouldson, IDBS

Jean Colombel, Dassault Systèmes

Joe Donahue, Accenture

Sergio H Rotstein, Pfizer

Alastair Binnie, BMS

Tim Hoctor, Elsevier

Mark Buswell, GlaxoSmithKline

Chris Waller, Epam

Alok Tayi, TetraScience

Sandy Tremps, Merck

Quan Yang, Novartis

Michael Braxenthaler, Roche

Michael Swartz, PerkinElmer

Lars Greiffenberg, Abbvie

Paying Members

(Last updated May 18 2018)
* Abbvie
* Accenture
* Aigenpulse Ltd
* Amgen
* Arxspan
* AstraZeneca UK Limited
* Bayer Pharma AG
* Benchling
* Binocular Vision Advisors LLC
* Bristol-Myers Squibb
* Cambridge Semantics
* Catalytic Data Science Inc
* ChemAxon Ltd
* Clarivate Analytics, formerly the IP&S business of Thomson Reuters
* Congenica
* Copyright Clearance Center
* cubuslab GmbH
* Cyclica Inc
* D2D
* Dassault Systemes BIOVIA
* Data2Discovery
* Databiology Ltd
* DeepMatter Limited
* Digipharm
* Discngine
* DNAnexus
* Dotmatics Limited
* Eagle Genomics Ltd
* Elemental Machines
* Eli Lilly
* Elsevier Inc.
* Envision Biotechnology
* F. Hoffmann-La Roche LTD (Roche)
* Fulcrum Direct Ltd
* Genialis
* Glaxo Group Ltd
* Global Value Web BV
* Grit42
* Incedo
* Infochem
* Intomics
* Kalleid
* KNIME.com AG
* Lab Automation Network
* Lifebit
* Linguamatics Ltd
* Luxoft
* Medalynx
* MediSapiens
* Medley Genomics
* Merck & Co
* Merck KGaA
* Monocl Software
* Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research, Inc.
* Novaseek Research
* Odysseus Data Services Inc
* Ontoforce
* Osthus GmbH
* PerkinElmer
* Pfizer, Inc.
* Pharmacelera
* Phenomic.AI
* Pine Biotech
* Promeditec srl
* Pryv SA
* quattro research GmbH
* Repositive
* Riffyn Inc
* RockStep Solutions
* Sanofi
* SciBite
* Scilligence
* Scitegrity Limited
* Shire
* Shivom
* Synthace
* Tag.Bio
* Tessella
* Tetrascience
* The Hyve
* Transcriptic
* Transformative AI
* Vivenics

Non-Paying Members

(Last updated May 18 2018)
* Agrimetrics Ltd
* Alex M Clark
* Andrew Conkie
*Andrew Hughes
* Andy Zaayenga
* CAS - A division of the American Chemical Society
* CCDC (Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre)
* Chris Barber
* Chris Morris
* Christophe Jamain
* Christopher Hart
* Corne Nous
* Daniel Taylor
*Devendra Deshmukh
* Edinburgh Parallel Computing Centre (EPCC)
* Francisco Fernandez
* Gaia Paolini
* Gerd Blanke
* HDF Group
* Healthcare Impact Foundation
* Ian Harrow
* IMGT®( ImMunoGeneTics)
* Inchi Trust
*Indiana Biosciences Research Institute
* Jan Holst Jenson
* Jaroslaw Tomczak
* Jeremy Frey
* John G. Sgouros
* Karine Seymour
* Leah McEwen
* Lhasa Limited
* Louis Fisher
* Manfred Remer
* Melanie Brewer
* Mike Furness
* Nick Trigg
* Nicola Fantini
* Paul Willer
* Peter Boogaard
* Peter Fields
* Philip Quinlan
* QFAB Bioinformatics
* Ricardo Grinberg-Funes
* Richard Holland
* Richard Lewin Wife
* Robert E. Schwartz
* Royal Society of Chemistry
* Rudy Potenzone
* SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics
* Stuart Chalk
* Stuart Dollow
* Terry Stouch
* Tetsuo Shimamoto
* Thomas Doerner
* Till Dettmering
* UCL- Peter Coveney Group
* University of Reading
* Wellcome Sanger Institute
* Wolfram Teetz
* Yannick Djoumbou Feunang


Interested parties may view our bylaws, our not for profit incorporation certificate, and our public financial returns.


Some images used on this website are courtesy of:

  • FreeDigitalPhotos.net: adamr, Archipoch, kjnnt.
  • OpenClipArt.org: Ryan Taylor.