Map Unavailable

Date/Time
Date(s) - 28 Jul 2022
10:00 am - 11:00 am

Categories


What: Ontologies in Action, Role in Data-Centric Biomedical Projects, Sponsored by Elucidata

 

When: July 28, 10:00 EDT / 7:00 PDT / 15:00 BST / 23:00 JST

Register Today

 

Webinar Partner

Webinar Summary

Targeted drug discovery is data-intensive and involves extracting statistical trends from events of interest collected over a large population. But, relevant data in biomedical research is often hard to find. High throughput experiments churn up data quickly, but much of it is devoid of context due to missing labels, wrong annotations, and irretrievable storage. And in the case of predicting rare events – such as cell lines that respond to a specific drug—only a few thousand relevant samples will be available.

 

Generating more data is essential, but we often do not sufficiently leverage existing data. Ontologies are key to good interoperability, enabling data & metadata integration and allowing researchers to leverage more of what is known in their scientific domains to make data-driven decisions faster. In addition, the advanced relationships in ontologies help mine for unexpected co-occurrences and suggest novel uses of drugs or similarities between diseases. This webinar will demonstrate how ontologies are essential to understanding the incoming data deluge for an enterprise & how they help retrieve the most relevant data for R&D efforts.

 

Speaker Bio

 

Shefali Lathwal Shefali Lathwal, Director Data-Centric AI, Elucidata
Shefali is leading Elucidata’s data-centric AI efforts to understand the impact of data on outcomes in biomedical ML projects. Prior to her current role, she worked as Research Lead on projects using biomolecular data to understand disease biology and for drug discovery. She has a Ph.D. and MS in Chemical Engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and M. Tech. & B.Tech in Chemical Engineering from IIT Delhi.

 

Ready to Get Involved?

There has never been a more important time to collaborate to innovate as an industry! If you would like to find out more about the benefits of Pistoia Alliance membership and how you can get involved with all the different initiatives we run, please send an email to Membership@PistoiaAlliance.org.